Favourite Friday : ” Lines from books “

There was a time when I used to read only quotes. They are usually short, however, I believe it to have got the depth of an ocean. So, this Friday, I’ve decided to share with you some of my favourite lines from books that I found thoughtful and worth reading.

Quote 1

“To love is to be afraid. You are frightened, deathly terrified, that something will happen to those you love. Think of the possibilities. Does your heart clench with each thought? That, my friend, is love. And love enslaves us all, for you cannot have love without fear.”
― Marie Lu, The Young Elites

Picture Source : Google Images
Picture Source : Google Images

The Young elites is one of the recent novels I read. Thanks to my friend who persuaded me to read this awesome book. Initially, I was skeptical about it but once I began, I couldn’t put the book away. I enjoyed it and there were other quotes which were notable. However, I memorized this one unknowingly as it made an indelible impression on me.

Quote 2

“If I win, I’m a prodigy. If I lose, then I’m crazy. That’s the way history is written.”

— Eoin Colfer Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, #1)

Picture Source : Google Images
Picture Source : Google Images

I absolutely agree with this quote. Success is necessary to earn a respectable place in this world. To succeed, you need to have perseverance and most importantly passion for the chosen goal. In simple, If you lose, you will be treated like dirt. And if you manage to win, you will be considered  as someone to be worshiped for centuries and by generations to come.

I was impressed with this quote and few other quotes from the series. Hence, I was determined to read the whole series i.e. all the 8 books. You know what happened? I just read one chapter of the first book and realized it is not for me.

Quote 3

“They were satisfied with their lives which had none of the vibrance his own was taking on. And he was angry at himself, that he could not change that for them.”
— Lois Lowry The Giver (The Giver, #1)

Picture Source : Google Images
Picture Source : Google Images

I loved the book – The Giver. It was very thought provoking and somehow I managed to read the whole series. The first book (The Giver) was phenomenal, the the second one (Gathering Blue), it had no connection with first one but I still enjoyed it. The third book (Messenger) acts as a link between the first and the second – a good read I would say. I was especially eager to know how it all ends, which actually gave me the energy to go through the last book (The Son) in the series. The series had a good storyline but I felt that the ending could have been better, sadly there were loose ends.

I hope you enjoyed reading the post.

Happy Friday!!

~Arcane Owl

23 thoughts on “Favourite Friday : ” Lines from books “

  1. The first one:
    The personal-romantic love is a fraction of infinite universal love, still, it has power to unclock inner realm. Without love we ever remain in self-doubt and paranoia. It’s an irony of human situation–the more we think about ‘only’ ourselves more insecure we actually become.

    When we think about someone else, out of love–we gain courage and joy. You have seen how courageous romantics become.

    When we think and work for universal good out of love–we gain fearlessness and joy unspeakable!

    Such is the human condition.

    A great read–all quotes are wonderful. I have also found a great joy in my life just by reading quotes as I am not an avid reader 🙂

    Happy Friday and great weekend.

    Sincerely,
    Anand

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hi,
    I met you in the Community Pool. I know Sue Vincent, KSBeth and Amit. I loved the Giver. I loved the movie even more! Did you see it?
    There are so many cool things to look at here. I loved those masks in the other post.
    Nice to meet you.
    Janice

    Liked by 2 people

Have you got something in mind? You are free to share ;)

