Comic Corner – Calvin and Hobbes #1

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of comics and found it short and amusing to read. Henceforth, I’ve been musing over this idea – “sharing the comics that I enjoyed reading with my dear readers as a weekly feature”.

Without any further ado, for this week’s comic corner, I’m excited to share with you the below comic on “Ethics’ featuring my most beloved comic characters – ‘Calvin and Hobbes’.

1020calvin20and20hobbes20-20ethics

Have you ever faced a similar situation? How did you overcome such a moral dilemma? Do you think there is a concrete solution to the issue raised?

Let me know!


Have a wonderful weekend!

Arcane Owl

47 thoughts on “Comic Corner – Calvin and Hobbes #1

  1. Calvin and Hobbes always have beautifully concealed messages. I love them. And the one you’ve posted is equally beautiful with a subtle sense of humour. Classic.
    I do hope you’ll check out my blog too sometime soon. πŸ™‚
    Have a great day ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmmm… I think it’s better to try your best. If one studies and does their best at something, that’s what counts.
    That’s funny @well it just seemed wrong to cheat on an ethics test.
    Have a great week AO
    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reminds me of the movie “The Good Lie” (Reese Witherspoon). Lying is OK in a selfless act; never in a selfish or self-promoting act. My take. Example: do you hide someone from the law when the law is unjust? Do you hide someone from the law when you’re promised payback?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I adore Calvin & Hobbes! What a fun one, I don’t think I’ve ever read that before. His argument would hold on in some courts I think. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

      1. They seem like they make a great team! I need to find my perfect partner in crime…do you know of any cute tigers or really cute men that would be up for the job of being my partner in crime?! Your little owl is so cute too! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey πŸ™‚
    I have to admitt that I have thought about cheating once or twice. But then I did not dare to, because I was so afraid of getting caught… πŸ™‚ So I just try to learn as much as possible before the test πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Calvin and Hobbes are my favorite comics to read! They always have a semi-hidden lesson! In this particular case I believe it is better to try and fail and learn from your mistakes. I did not always agree with this logic when I was in middle school though. As I have grown I have learned that the best way to learn is to try, then fail (if that is the outcome) and learn from your mistakes so that the next time you can succeed because you have learned from your failures!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Really loved the Calvin and Hobbes story you posted. Made me remember why I love that series full stop.

    Would a better question be; is sharing comics in this type of forum to engage with a wider audience that might not know the material ethically ok without the artist/writers consent?

    Personally I think the sharing of art to raise important educational questions should happen as par the course across the world and censorship of copyright material should not happen if its sole purpose is to educate the readers of the material.

    Anyways! Loved this little story!

    Liked by 1 person

Have you got something in mind? You are free to share ;)

