An open letter to my dearest ______________

This post is in response to daily prompt : Incomplete


 Dear,

We were made for each other, soulmates and best of friends until the darkness engulfed my mind. You used to wrap your loving arms around my frightened soul and trudged through the rocky paths with me, in hope of better days yet to unfold. You gave me company and provided me with comfort and solace when the very essence of my being was torn asunder due to the unbearable weight of loneliness I had brought upon myself.

You were a portal to inaccessible lands where my wildest dreams became a reality. It was through the words inked on your skins, I learned to live mine as well as lived lives beyond my reach. Remember, I always judged your inner worth through your outward appearance. But every time I ventured beyond the cover you surprised me with new possibilities. 

child-reading
Source : Google Images

You were a blessing, now a curse. I let you beyond the walls I’d raised, gave you a special place in my heart. It was after all my fault, I became overly attached to you because you were my joy, my means of escape and every little things that kept my fragile mind together. I just couldn’t imagine a day without you.

You never failed to come for my rescue or quench my thirst for knowledge. However, too much of anything is not good. Maybe that’s the reason why my mind turned against you. It fettered my rational mind and pushed me into a vicious cycle.

Every time I sought your company, I paid an unbearable price – my sanity. The demented mind had its roots firm and fed on my fears, anxieties and apprehensions. The space between us grew and at the end, we bid good bye.

Ever since then, I’ve been living with a sense of voidness. An empty space which no other thing can fill up. It is a sort of a vacuum and every time I think about you, it leaves me breathless. You know why because you were my breath, my shelter, a safe haven in this big bad world and without you I’m incomplete.

Yours sincerely
Voracious reader


Have a great day!

Arcane Owl


© Arcane Owl and A Wayward Scribblez, 2015- 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.

Creative Commons License
This blog is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

103 thoughts on “An open letter to my dearest ______________

    1. Thanks for reading and sharing your experience, Chris. While words can never fully express how much someone means to us, language can still provide comfort, solace, even hope following the death of a loved one. 

      Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Arcane Owl! You know I love this!! 😊❤️ This is such a touching letter! I really hope the one it is intended for reads it. Or, perhaps you should go to her and tell her in person! The mind can be quite taunting, but men can also be very stubborn. Love does not come around very often, but when it does…
    You know the rest! 😉 Definitely sending you a huge hug through the Internet! Now don’t waste another minute on your thoughts, follow through with actions! You have to try.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for coming around and reading. I think there is a bit of a misunderstanding and I’m obliged to clear it. Firstly, this letter is not meant for any person though it does sound that way. Actually, this letter is from a voracious reader to his/her dearest books. Sorry for the confusion. Hope I’ve made myself clear now 🙂 Thanks again, your comment had me grinning 😉

      Have a great day!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. You don’t need to be sorry. I should’ve been more specific after all. And any piece of writing can be interpreted in different ways. I really loved your comment and will always look forward to it 🙂

        Have a lovely day!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I can’t even begin to explain how much I relate to these words. You went there. I can only appreciate such raw and honest emotions. Thank you so much for opening up and sharing in this way 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Have you got something in mind? You are free to share ;)

